The Finalists for the 2008 Urban Wheel Awards

The 12th Annual Urban Wheel Awards is just a few weeks far from now. Recently, the finalists for the event was proclaimed after an independent panel of judges – made up of 15 automotive journalists from multicultural, automotive trade, and general market media – cast their votes for the qualifiers.

According to Randi Payton, President and CEO of On Wheels, Inc. and founder of the awards, “The Urban Wheel Awards brings together top leaders in the auto industry with the multicultural community which represents their true customer base … Inclusion of all its customers in critical to building bridges to the multicultural community and to recognizing the contributions of minorities in the industry.”

The Urban Wheel Awards are being presented in categories, including Company of the Year, African-American, Asian and Latino automotive executives of the year, as well as minority Supplier of the Year. There will also be the Diversity in Motorsports awards – to acknowledge the commitment to diversity recognized in the racing arena. New to the program is the Urban Dealer of the Year award.

The finalists for the 2008 Urban Wheel Awards are as follows (courtesy of

African American Executive of the Year

  • Bennie Fowler

VP, Quality
Ford Motor Company

  • Marshilia Snoddy

Zone Manager for Process Improvement, Southwest Zone
American Honda Motor Company

  • Ed Welburn

VP, Global Design
General Motors Corporation

Asian Executive of the Year

  • Takeshi Abe

Henry Ford Technical Fellow
Ford Motor Company

  • Ray G, Young

Group VP, GM Global Finance
General Motors Corporation

Latino Executive of the Year

  • Dave Mondragon

General Manager, Ford Motor Company Southwest Region
Ford Motor Company

  • Victor Nacif

VP Design, Business Aspects
Nissan Design America

Supplier of the Year

  • Detroit Chassis
  • Ewie Co. Inc.
  • Pinnacle

Company of the Year

  • Chrysler
  • Ford Motor Company
  • General Motors

Car of the Year

  • Chevrolet Malibu
  • Honda Accord
  • Mercedes-Benz C Class

Truck of the Year

  • Buick Enclave
  • Chrysler Town & Country
  • Infiniti EX 35

Diversity in Motor Sports Finalists

  • National Hot Rod Association
  • STAR Motorsports
  • Urban Youth Racing School

Urban Dealer of the Year

  • Bill Perkins Automotive Group
  • Mike Pruitt Honda
  • Southaven Pontiac/Buick/GMC

The awards will be given at the Fox Theater in Detroit on January 15, 2008 – in conjunction with Press Preview Week of the North American International Auto Show.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: